Skip to content

Province names members of Accessibility Advisory Board

Nova Scotia has set a goal to be accessible by 2030
120817-nova scotia flag-AdobeStock_18835351
(stock image)


Twelve Nova Scotians will serve as the first members of the province's Accessibility Advisory Board.

"We are very pleased to be appointing such an experienced and diverse group of individuals to the Accessibility Advisory Board," said Attorney General and Justice Minister Mark Furey. 

"Many Nova Scotians face barriers that prevent them from fully participating in society. The board will be working to address these barriers and to help make the province an accessible place for all to live and work."

One of the board's first tasks will be to develop and recommend to the minister a strategy and implementation plan which outlines how Nova Scotia will achieve accessibility by 2030. This is expected to be completed in the fall. The board will also advise government on the development of accessibility standards.

Appointees to the board are:
-- Douglas Foster, chair, Sydney River
-- Rosalind Penfound, vice-chair, Dartmouth
-- Alexander Peeler, Conquerall Bank, Lunenburg Co.
-- Amy Parsons, Halifax
-- Anne Sinclair, Halifax
-- Barry Abbott, Halifax
-- Cynthia Bruce, Kentville
-- David Caswell, Waverly
-- Irene Campbell-Taylor, Mahone Bay
-- Kevin Russell, Halifax
-- Marcellina Shwery-Stanley, Sydney
-- Warren (Gus) Reed, Halifax

The establishment of an Accessibility Advisory Board was a commitment under the province's legislation to make Nova Scotia accessible by 2030. 

Under the act, at least 50 per cent of board members must be persons with a disability. The board members appointed today represent a diverse range of disabilities. 

For more information on the accessibility directorate and biographies of the board members, visit: .



Rogers Media
6080 Young Street Halifax, NS, B3K 5L2 © 2006-2020 Rogers Media. All rights reserved.