Skip to content

Province names Accessibility Standard Development Committee members

Nova Scotia has set a goal to be an accessible province by 2030
(stock photo)

Thirty-nine Nova Scotians will help develop the province's first accessibility standards.

"This is another significant milestone in reaching our goal of an accessible province by 2030," said Justice Minister Mark Furey. "I want to thank all the individuals who applied to serve on the committees and I especially want to congratulate the individuals who will contribute to this important work."

The Education Standard Development Committee will develop recommendations for standards to make the education system more accessible for students with disabilities, while the Built Environment Standard Development Committee will focus on the accessibility of buildings and public spaces. The committees will assist the Minister's Accessibility Advisory Board in preparing recommendations for government.

Most committee members identify as having a disability, including those with visual, mobility, auditory and learning disabilities.

"The expertise of these individuals in the education and built-environment sectors will help ensure that our standards will provide equitable access to education and infrastructure throughout the province," said Mr. Furey.

One hundred and forty-three applications were received for the committees. The Accessibility Advisory Board reviewed the applications and recommended members to the minister.

"The board was pleased to receive so many applications from Nova Scotians with such diverse and extensive expertise in education and the built environment," said Doug Foster, chair of the Accessibility Advisory Board. "It is a reflection of the high level of interest and engagement in advancing accessibility in our province."

Persons with disabilities, organizations that represent persons with disabilities, and organizations and sectors impacted by the standards will be consulted throughout the process.

The first standards are expected to be enacted by 2021 and implemented beginning in 2022. Development of standards for employment, goods and services, information and communication, and transportation will begin at a rate of one per year, beginning in 2021.

The following is a list of the 39 committee members.

Education Standard Development Committee members:

  • Rosalind Penfound, chair - vice-president, organizational development, Nova Scotia Community College, Dartmouth
  • Cynthia Bruce, vice-chair - instructor II, Faculty of Education, Acadia University, Kentville
  • Denise Cameron - department head, learning centre and resource, Chignecto Central Regional Centre for Education, Truro
  • Linda Campbell - professor, School of Environmental Studies, St. Mary's University, Halifax
  • Jacqueline Cote - student development officer- disability support, Cape Breton University, Sydney Forks
  • Alice Evans - executive director, The Club Inclusion, Halifax
  • Mary Goya - manager, adult learning, Department of Labour and Advanced Education, Dartmouth
  • Sheila Jamieson - classroom teacher, Atlantic Provinces Special Education Authority, Halifax
  • Diane Johnson-Snook - program co-ordinator, Achieve Program, Nova Scotia Community College, Port Hawkesbury
  • Alex LeBlanc - retired tradesman, human rights advocate, Wolfville
  • Chrissi Lynch - co-ordinator of student services, Strait Regional Centre for Education, Queensville, Inverness Co. 
  • Patricia Monaghan - executive director, Nova Scotia Early Childhood Development Intervention Services, Halifax 
  • Adela N'Jie - student services co-ordinator, Conseil scolaire acadien provincial, Dartmouth
  • Kevin Penny - equipment grants co-ordinator, Post-Secondary Accessibility Services, Department of Labour and Advanced Education, Halifax
  • Ann Power - executive director, Student Equity and Support Services, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Halifax
  • Cornelia Schneider - associate professor, Faculty of Education, Mount Saint Vincent University, Porters Lake
  • David Steele - registrar, Dexter Institute Private Career College, Lower Sackville
  • Sue Taylor-Foley - executive director, Innovation, Programs and Services, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Chester
  • Matt Walsh - accessibility mentor and advocate, Subway employee, Upper Tantallon
  • Barbara Welsford - assistive technology specialist, South Shore Regional Centre for Education, Mahone Bay

Built Environment Standard Development Committee members:

  • Laurie Cranton, chair - councillor, Municipality of the County of Inverness, Margaree Centre
  • Ramzi Kawar, vice-chair - manager, building design, Housing Nova Scotia, Bedford
  • Paul Burt - manager, building, planning and licensing, Cape Breton Regional Municipality, Sydney
  • Douglas Foster - planning specialist, New Dawn Enterprises, Sydney River
  • Mohammad Harb - trained architect, community volunteer, Halifax
  • Donna Hoar - vice-president, Grey Cardinal Management Inc., Mineville
  • Andrew Jantzen - research assistant, electronic technologist, Nova Scotia Community College, Halifax
  • Megan Lloyd - intern architect, RHAD Architects, Dartmouth
  • Earl MacKenzie - director, public works, Town of New Glasgow, New Glasgow
  • Sheena Moore - senior architect, Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal, Halifax 
  • Allison Moz - way-finding partner, co-owner, eyecandy SIGNS Inc., Halifax
  • Peter Polley - founder and president, POLYCORP Group, Halifax 
  • Jennifer Powley - urban planner, Halifax
  • Joseph Rogers - building code co-ordinator, Department of Municipal Affairs, Timberlea
  • Ross Sampson - retired production supervisor, Beaver Bank
  • Saira Shah - planner, Municipality of the District of West Hants, Lower Sackville
  • Gordie Snook - general manager, facilities and operations, Town of Port Hawkesbury, Port Hawkesbury
  • Johanna Stork - certified orientation and mobility specialist, Vision Loss Rehabilitation Nova Scotia, Halifax
  • Hannah Wood - owner, Fulcrum Accessibility Consulting, Halifax



Rogers Media
6080 Young Street Halifax, NS, B3K 5L2 © 2006-2020 Rogers Media. All rights reserved.