Skip to content

Nova Scotia NDP select candidate for upcoming byelection

Lara Fawthrop was chosen at the nomination ceremony in Lower Sackville Saturday night
120817-nova scotia flag-AdobeStock_18835351
(stock image)

The Nova Scotia NDP selected their candidate for the Sackville-Cobequid byelection this past weekend.

Lara Fawthrop was chosen at the nomination ceremony in Lower Sackville Saturday night.

She ran for the position after incumbent Dave Wilson announced in November he would be stepping down.

Fawthrop tells Global News she saw his resignation as an opportunity.

"When Dave Wilson announced that he was resigning, I thought for a minute, maybe this is my opportunity to expand the work that I did at Sackville High School that I did for that school community, and expand that work for the larger community," explains Fawthrop.

She plans to focus on reducing healthcare wait times, specifically relating to mental health.

"For me to represent Sackville, it would mean accomplishment for all, because one of the things I value is working together as a team, so it's actually not for me, it means something for us," says Fawthrop.

In the contest, she beat out Trevor Sanipass who had hoped to become the first Mi'qmaw MLA - and will be running against regional councillor Steve Craig under the PC banner.

The Liberals have yet to announce a candidate, and Premier Stephen McNeil has until May 16th to call an election - which will then be held within 30-46 days after that.

Sackville-Cobequid has traditionally been an NDP stronghold, with Wilson holding the seat since 2003, and John Holm keeping it in the NDP camp for 19 years before that.

Provincial NDP Leader Gary Burrill is hopeful residents will give his party the continued opportunity to serve them in the legislature.


Rogers Media
6080 Young Street Halifax, NS, B3K 5L2 © 2006-2019 Rogers Media. All rights reserved.